Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Alumni News—Fall 2014

“Good Luck, Freshmen!”

Words of Wisdom and Welcome

Last spring, members of the 2014 reunion classes—graduates in years ending in “4” or “9”—were invited to jot an encouraging message on a post-it note that would be given to an incoming freshman. When the mailing went out, we wondered: Would anyone respond? The answer was yes—and every note received was posted on a first-year student’s residence hall door. The responses were enthusiastic and heartwarming, and came from alumni ranging from the Class of ’59 to new graduates of 2014.

With thanks to all contributors, here is a brief sampling of alumni advice:

  • “You’ve chosen the best!”—Dolores Slosar, OP ’59
  • “Good luck—and don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone!”—Christine Hardy ’14
  • “Be your authentic self as you nourish your mind and spirit.”—Rene Boey ’89
  • “Don’t let not knowing what you’re doing hold you back. Learn as you go.”—Angela Bidlack ’64
  • “Work hard and never give up.”—Charles Frey ’14
  • “Do more than belong; participate.”—Karen Johnson ’04
  • “Professors will challenge you to succeed, not to fail. Everything has a purpose.”—Karin Schroer ’94
  • “Explore beyond what is expected of you.”—Lorenzo Cristaudo ’14
  • “Welcome to a great University!”—Jeanne Mosley ’59

2014-15 Alumni Association Board of Directors

President—Mary Small Poore ’76
Vice President—Katie Hatch ’07
Secretary—Carlene Staton ’06
Past President—Michael Kirk Lane ’05

Mary Beaubien, OP ‘55
Dory Garcia Bryant ‘88
Marcus Carter ’12 (Southfield)
Manuel Hoskins III ’03, ’06
(Monroe, Southfield)
Ashley Nelson Hudson ’05, ‘08
Christopher Hudson ‘07
Tonya Jackson-Wilson ’09 (Southfield)
Tracey Ladd ‘93
Todd Marsee ‘94
Bethany McCaulley ‘06
Douglas Miller ’74, ‘83
JoAnn Curtin Monaghan ‘65
Michael Morgan ‘83
Gerald Peterson ’01 (Lansing)
Jacob Pifer ‘03
Wendy Kirkbride Rusie ‘99
Carlene Staton ‘06

Student Representative—Matt Robinet
Faculty Representative—Dr. Julius Nagy

Leave a comment


email (not published)